There was no official limit to the number of terms a President could run for until shortly after the death of Franklin D. Roosevelt in his fourth consecutive term. This created the twenty-second amendment stating:

"No person shall be elected to the office of President more than twice..."

However, after Washington rejected running for a third time for the Presidency, he created a tradition of informal term limits. Roosevelt was the only President to successfully break Washington's tradition in 1941 when he was elected a third time.